Skip to Content

Menu Navigation

Toolbar Options

Member Options


Governor’s Volunteerism Awards

The Virginia Governor's Volunteerism awards are presented annually on behalf of the Governor of Virginia in partnership with the Virginia Office on Volunteerism and Community Service (OVCS) at the Virginia Department of Social Services and the Governor’s Advisory Board on Service and Volunteerism. The awards recognize the significant contributions of Virginia citizens to the life and welfare of the Commonwealth and its people.

The Nomination Period has ended. Thank you for your nominations!
An awards ceremony will take place April 30. Stay tuned.

Selection Criteria

Recipients of the Governor's Community Service and Volunteerism Awards exemplify the following characteristics:

  • Engage in the creation, organization, and/or mobilization of volunteers, groups and resources that are involved in projects benefiting the greater community.
  • Demonstrate sustained commitment to meeting community needs.
  • Utilize unique and creative approaches to meeting needs.
  • Develop and foster the virtues and skills of civic engagement and social responsibility.


2014 Governor's Volunteerism Award Winners









Governor McAuliffe announced the recipients of the 2014 Governor's Volunteerism and Community Service Awards at a special ceremony at the Governor's Mansion on April 10. Read more about the 2014 Award Ceremony.